About Us


The majority of the land, 130 acres, was a gift from Clarence H. Wickham, whose will mandated that the property become a park following the death of his wife, Edith Wickham. A bequeath of 67 acres was given in 1967 by Myrtle Williams who owned land adjacent to the property (Private 10). Through land swaps and purchases, Wickham Park has expanded to the current 250 acres of land.

Upon his death in 1945, Clarence Wickham also left the bulk of his financial estate to fund Wickham Park. Bank of America, originally Hartford National Bank, manages the trust which finances both the operation and maintenance of the park.  While the trust provides for a majority of the operating expenses, donations, fees, and charges are required to deliver the highest quality park experience possible.

Landscape architects Olmsted Associates, Inc.,  based out of Brookline, Mass., created the park’s original design (Private 10). The plan called for the mansion on the property to be used as the home for the park superintendent. Extensive maintenance costs led to the home being torn down in 1964. The maintenance building, which now houses the park’s offices, was originally the Wickham’s carriage house. The log cabin, built in 1927 as a meeting place for family and friends, burned to the ground in 1989. A replica now stands on the original location which overlooks Hartford. The park opened officially on July 1, 1961, one year after the death of Edith Wickham.

Mr. And Mrs. Wickham wanted the public to enjoy their estate, named The Pines and while occupying the property, “derived supreme satisfaction in unselfishly, and in the spirit of sincere hospitality, permitting others to enjoy their privilege” (Case 7). Today, Wickham Park bases its development around the enjoyment of nature, an idea the Wickham’s promoted throughout their lives.